Vintage Shakuhachi

About 4 years ago, I was browsing the racks at a new store that had opened up in an arcade in Melbourne. It was a seconds and samples shop for designers, although most of the labels I hadn’t heard of before. I found this funky little dress in a black and white check, with a tulip skirt and a small triangle cut out at the front. It was from a brand I didn’t know, and I brought it home for about $45. The brand was Shakuhachi. Over the next few years, I started to see this name pop up more frequently, in magazines, in shops and online. People were starting to notice and I can’t tell you how excited I was. I felt like I had discovered this brand! Although I had only purchased one dress, it was as if my support had ultimately led to her brand flourishing. It was also a nice fashion ego boost to know that my personal style and preference was backed up by the industry, who took up the brand and began to use her clothing in fashion shoots and stock in their stores. I’ll leave you with some of Jessie’s (Jessie White is the designer behind Shakuhachi) latest offerings that I could quite easily give a home to, but know that nothing I purchase will give me the same feeling as my ‘vintage’  Shakuhachi. 😉

 


 

All can be purchased online at the Shakuhachi website.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

